aliceatnineteen

Tattoo

Last year my friend Sammie asked me to design a tattoo for her. She had been thinking of getting a tattoo of a skull with blossom, but could not find any examples of what she wanted anywhere, so she came to me for help with designing it.

I experimented with a few different ideas, creating the skull shape first before simplifying it and changing the dark and light areas in the skull until there was an outline that worked effectively with the blossom. Eventually,  I came up with a design where the blossom is reaching into the skull, instead of completely filling it, looking as a tree would instead of a pattern. Sammie liked this final design and after a few changes to the thickness of lines, I was invited along to watch the tattoo process!

I was nervous as I had never seen a tattoo being done before, nor…

View original post 26 more words

Leave a Reply

